

Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Published On: 03-12-2022

Why is in news? PM Modi pays tributes to former President Dr. Rajendra Prasad on his birth anniversary

Rajendra Prasad was born in Bihar (3 December 1884 – 28 February 1963) was an Indian politician, lawyer, Indian independence activist, journalist & scholar who served as the **first president of Republic of India** from 1950 to 1962.

He **joined the Indian National Congress** during the Indian Independence Movement and became a major leader from the region of Bihar and Maharashtra.

A **supporter of Mahatma Gandhi**, Prasad was imprisoned by British authorities during the Salt Satyagraha of 1931 and the Quit India movement of 1942.

After the constituent assembly 1946 elections, Prasad served as Minister of Food and Agriculture in the central government.

Upon independence in 1947, Prasad was **elected as President of the Constituent Assembly of India**, which prepared the Constitution of India and served as its provisional Parliament.

In 1957, Prasad was re-elected to the presidency, becoming the **only president to serve two full terms**. Prasad stayed in office for the longest term of around 12 years.

He was awarded the Bharat Ratna in 1962.

A list of the books written by Dr. Rajendra Prasad includes Mahatma Gandhi and Bihar, Some Reminiscences, Satyagraha at Champaran, Atmakatha, Division of India, Since Independence.