

IFFI Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award

Published On: 14-10-2023

Why is in news? Hollywood Actor and Producer Michael Douglas to attend 54th International Film Festival of India To Receive Prestigious Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award

The prestigious Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award will be bestowed upon the renowned **Hollywood actor** and producer Michael Douglas at the 54th International Film Festival of India (IFFI).

IFFI 54, a significant event in the global cinematic calendar, will be graced by the celebrated actor, accompanied by his spouse, eminent actress and philanthropist Catherine Zeta Jones and their son and actor, Dylan Douglas.

Indian Film producer and founder of Percept Ltd. and the Sunburn music festival Shailendra Singh, who is celebrating his 25 years in the Indian Film Industry will also be in attendance.

Michael Douglas:

Michael Douglas has enjoyed a remarkable career, earning two Academy Awards, five Golden Globe Awards, and an Emmy Award.

His roles in cinematic masterpieces such as "Wall Street (1987)", "Basic Instinct (1992)", "Falling Down (1993)", "The American President (1995)", "Traffic (2000)" and "Behind the Candelabra (2013)" have left an indelible imprint on cinema history.

He has also produced a number of critically acclaimed films, such as "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (1975)", "The China Syndrome (1979)", and "The Game (1999)".

In 1998, he was **appointed the UN Messenger of Peace** for his commitment to disarmament issues, including nuclear non-proliferation and halting the illicit trade in small arms and light weapons.

Notably, he was awarded the honorary Palm D'Or at the Cannes Film Festival earlier this year, a testament to his enduring influence on the global film fraternity.

About the award:

The IFFI Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award (formerly IFFI Lifetime Achievement Award) is an international honour **instituted by the International Film Festival of India**.

The recipient is honoured for their outstanding contribution to the growth and development of World cinema.

The award was first instituted in the year 1999 from the 30th IFFI.

During the 52nd edition in 2021, on the occasion of the birth centenary of Satyajit Ray, the Directorate of Film Festivals in recognition of the auteur's legacy, "The IFFI Lifetime Achievement award" was rechristened to "IFFI - Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award".

The Award has previously honoured luminaries such as Bernardo Bertolucci (IFFI 30), Carlos Saura (IFFI 53), Martin Scorsese (IFFI 52). Dilip Kumar (IFFI 38). Krzysztof Zanussi (IFFI 43). and Wong Kar-wai (IFFI 45).

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: **044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477** / Whatsapp : **09710729833**

