

National Sports Award

Published On: 15-11-2022

Why is in news? National Sports Awards 2022 announced; Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award goes to table tennis player Achanta Sharath Kamal

Table Tennis player Sharath Kamal Achanta has been chosen for Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. Arjuna Awards will be given to 25 sportspersons and 5 coaches have been chosen for Dronacharya Award and Three entities have been recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, etc.

The **Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports** announced the National Sports Awards 2022. The awardees will **receive their awards from the President of India** at a specially organized function at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 30th November, 2022

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award:

It was formerly known as the **Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna**, it is the **highest award bestowed to a sports person in India** and was instituted in the year **1991-1992**.

It is given for the spectacular and **most outstanding performance in the field of sports** by a sportsperson over a period of the previous four years. It comprises a medallion, a certificate, and a cash prize of Rs 25 lakh.

Arjuna Award:

It was instituted in **1961** by the Government of India to recognise **outstanding achievement in national sports** events.

It is given for good performance over a period of previous four years and showing **qualities of leadership**, **sportsmanship and a sense of discipline**. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll of honour.

Dronacharya Award:

It was instituted in 1985 by the Government of India to recognise excellence in sports coaching.

It carries a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh, a bronze statue of Dronacharya and a scroll of honour.

Dhyan Chand Award:

This award is for the life time achievement in sports and games.

It was instituted in the year **2002** and comprises a **Dhyan Chand statuette**, a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh, a certificate and a ceremonial dress.

It is given to honour sportspersons who have **contributed to sports** by their performance and continue to contribute to promotion of sports events **after their retirement**.

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: 044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477 / Whatsapp : 09710729833

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy:

It was instituted in the year 1956-1957. It is for university-level sports performances.

It is given to a university for "top performance in the inter-university tournaments" over the period of the last one year.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar:

It was instituted in the year **2009**. It is given to **corporate entities** (both in private and public sector), **sports control boards**, **NGOs** including sports bodies at the State and National level who have played a visible role in the **area of sports promotion and development**.

