

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Published On: 25-07-2024

Why in news?

Southeast Asian Foreign Ministers gather in Laos this week for talks on the disputed South China Sea and the conflict in Myanmar.



About ASEAN:

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on **8 August 1967** in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (**Bangkok Declaration**).

Founding Fathers of ASEAN: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam joined ASEAN on 7 January 1984, followed by Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today **the ten Member States of ASEAN.**

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations is a regional organization which was established to promote political and social stability amid rising tensions among the Asia-Pacific's post-colonial states.

The motto of ASEAN is "One Vision, One Identity, One Community".

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: **044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477** / Whatsapp : **09710729833**

8th August is observed as ASEAN Day.

ASEAN Secretariat - Indonesia, Jakarta.

ASEAN's primary objective was to accelerate economic growth and through that social progress and cultural development.

With some of the fastest growing economies in the world, ASEAN has broadened its objective beyond the economic and social spheres.

India became a sectoral dialogue partner of ASEAN in 1992. Mutual interest led ASEAN to invite India to become its full dialogue partner during the fifth ASEAN Summit in Bangkok in 1995. India also became a member of the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) in 1996.

What are the Fundamental Principles of ASEAN?

- The ASEAN fundamental principles, as contained in the Treaty of Amity and Southeast Asia (TAC) of 1976
 - Mutual respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial in national identity of all nations.
 - The right of every State to lead its national existence free from externa subversion or coercion.
 - Non-interference in the internal affairs of one another.
 - Settlement of differences or disputes by peaceful manner.
 - Renunciation of the threat or use of force.
 - Effective cooperation among themselves.
- 1995 Members signed a deal to create a **nuclear-free zone** in Southeast Asia.
- 1997 Adoption of ASEAN Vision 2020.
- 2003 **Bali Concord II** for the establishment of an ASEAN Community.
- 2007 Cebu Declaration, to accelerate the establishment of ASEAN Community by 2015.
- 2008 ASEAN Charter comes into force and becomes a legally binding agreement.
- 2015 Launch of **ASEAN Community.**

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: **044 4353 9988 / 98403 94477** / Whatsapp : **09710729833**

ASEAN Community is comprised of three pillars:

ASEAN Economic Community

ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community

ASEAN Political-Security Community

Kamaraj IAS Academy

Plot A P.127, AF block, 6 th street, 11th Main Rd, Shanthi Colony, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040 Phone: **044 4353 9988** / **98403 94477** / Whatsapp : **09710729833**