

## **UNGA**

Published On: 06-06-2024

United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) elected Denmark, Greece, Pakistan, Panama, and Somalia to UNSC

Each year UNGA elects five non-permanent members (out of 10 in total) of UNSC for a two-year term through a secret ballot

UNSC It is one of the six principal organs of the UN (others are UNGA, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, International Court of Justice, and UN Secretariat).

Composed of 15 Members (5 permanent and 10 non-permanent)5 Permanent members (China, France, Russia, UK, and US) enjoy veto power.

Holds primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security